May Wrap Up

The month of May was a fairly good one when it came to books and I finished quite a few.

  

The first book that I read was An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir. For those who didn’t read my review of the book, here’s a small introduction to it. The story follows Laia, a slave Scholar girl and Elias, a Mask belonging to the Empire. She is trying to free her brother from prison while he decides to desert after graduating from the Mask Training Academy but what happens is a series of twists and an unlikely alliance of a slave girl and an Empire soldier. The story was really really good and Razorbill announced the sequel would be coming out next year. I gave it 4/5 stars.

       

Next was Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by JK Rowling. This is one of the companion books released with the Harry Potter series and details various monsters and magical creatures that are encountered throughout the series with a few extras. I gave it 5/5 stars. Also, the book is being turned into a feature film starring Eddie Redmayne as Newt Scamander.

 

Next I read American Gods by Neil Gaiman. This book was huge and I’ve been trying to finish it for a while now and finally succeeded. The story depicts the journey of a man named Shadow across the Unitef States with a man claiming to be a God by the name of Wednesday. With nothing to lose and nowhere to go, he follows him into a world that will change everything that he knew and understood. I loved this book. There is a rather scattered and crazy nature that is rather addicting and very enjoyable. If you aren’t afraid of big books, you’ll enjoy this one. I gave it a 5/5 stars.

 

Next I read The Monarch of the Glen by Neil Gaiman which is a short novella that accompanies American Gods. I can’t say much about it because it contains spoilers for the previous book so, read it after Amerixan Gods. I gave it 5/5 stars as well.

 

Another book that I finished was Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell. This book was fairly slow in its pace in the beginning but picked up at the end. The story was quite heartrending and very unexpected and thoroughly enjoyable. I gave it a 4.5/5 stars.

 

Another Neil Gaiman book that I read was The Sleeper in the Spindle. It’s very short (about 70 pages) and is a fairytale retelling of Sleeping Beauty and Snow White. Knowing Gaiman there were a few twists to make it wicked but it was fairly impressive. The book also has beautiful illustrations in it that make the journey all the more enjoyable. I gave it a 4/5 stars.

 

Next I read Crown of Midnight by SJ Maas. She has become my new favorite author and I absolutely love everything she’s written. It’s absolutely fantastic to read her writing and I can’t wait for more. I did a review for this book so I will not be talking about it much. It was brilliant and I gave it 4.5/5 stars.

 

Finally, I read Heir of Fire by SJ Maas the last book in the  Throne of Glass series. This book was a bomb and so amazing there are no words. It was more emotionally draining than the others but miles better story wise. I wrote a review for this as well and gave it 5/5 stars.

Alright, those were the books I read in May. Let me know down below what you read and what book was your favourite.

Leave a Reply

