June Wrap Up

June was a surprisingly good month despite the very bad reading slump. I managed to finish not only my TBR but also started on and finished a couple of other ones. 

  
First I have My Heart and Other Blackholes by Jasmine Warga. The story follows a girl who’s suicidal because of something that happened in her past. When she’s surfing a website that allows suicidal people to meet other suicidal people and find the person compatible with them to die, she comes across a post by a user who she deems worthy of her partnership. After a few emails exchanged, they meet face to face and set a date. The story counts down to the Date they’d set on which they’d kill themselves and their experiences along the way. 

The best thing about this book was that it didn’t romanticize depression and suicide. It was ugly and painful and stark in its writing. These two characters are hell bent on going through with their plan of committing suicide and they aren’t allowed to stop each other from not doing it. The sheer hopelessness of the characters is so real that it’s impossible to not fall in love with this story. Everything was very real and made the book nearly impossible to put down. There was also another aspect of the story that is not very noticeable, only suicidal people can see the good in each other enough to stop each other. If a normal, emotionally healthy person tells a depressed and/or suicidal person that they’re worth it, it’s fantasy to think that that person won’t kill themselves. But when you have two characters or people that understand each others’ pain, know where they come from but still see the very small ember of light in them, that is believable. It is quite a short read but won’t feel like it because there’s so much happening. If you would like a small glimpse into the suicidal mind, this gives it to you. I gave this book a 4/5 stars. 

  
Next I have A Court of Thorns and Roses by SJ Maas. This is her new New Adult series and is a fairytale retelling of Beauty and the Beast. I did a full review for this book so you can check that out here. I gave this a 5/5 stars.

   
 Keeping in line with SJ Maas, I read the Assassin’s Blade and The Assassin and the Princess. These are novellas that detail Celaena’s life before Endovier and while she worked for the King of Adarlan. I reviewed these two already and you can read them here. I gave them a 4/5 stars. 
  
Then I read a book I was sent for review called Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon. Definitely one of my most anticipated and favorite books of the year. I reviewed this as well here. This was a 5/5 stars for me. 

  
For the Booksplosion Book Club, I read Off the Page by Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer. This was a companion to Between the Lines by the mother- daughter duo and can be read as a standalone. The story follows a girl who wishes a character from a children’s fairytale to come to life so that they can be together in real life and it works. It’s a tale told from three perspectives, Delilah the girl who wishes for the prince to come to life, Oliver the Prince of the fairytale and Edgar the son of the author who wrote the fairytale. 

The story is cute and fairly lighthearted. Each POV is a different color of text and there are beautiful illustrations throughout. If you like fairytales and something that isn’t too heavy to read, this book is great. I have this a 3.25/5 stars. 

  
In preparation of the film release, I picked up Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews. If you don know the story, it’s about a boy who is forced to become friends with a girl who is dying of cancer and has to leave his status of being friends with everyone in his school to do it. 

I expected a whole lot more from this book than I got. So many people and reviewers claimed it was funny but I barely cracked a smile. Greg Gaines is a very one dimensional character and unimpressive. The same goes for his friend Earl. Based on the title, you’d think they’d become best friends and do a lot of things but all you get is a sad excuse to write about two boys making terrible movie spoofs who are forced into making a film about Rachel’s (the Dying Girl) life. I’m sorry Jesse Andrews, this book was terrible. I gave it a 2/5 stars. 

  
In an attempt to get out of my reading slump, I picked up more than a few books along the way and ended up starting and finishing Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi. The series is a dystopian Young Adult book about a girl with a terrible power. She’s in isolation until a man wants to exploit her power for his own gain and after 243 days of captivity, she is set free from the mental institution in which she was kept. 

I loved the writing style that Tahereh used. It was different and you could almost believe you were in the mind of Juliette. The world building was good and the characters were very interesting. It’s like X-Men but in a dystopian world. I liked Adam, I can completely imagine Colton Haynes playing him in a TV Show. If you liked Divergent, you’ll like this even better. I gave it a 4/5 stars. 

  
And finally, as a part of Month of Matson I read Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson. If you don’t know what it’s about, it’s about a girl named Amy who must drive from California to Connecticut with Roger who is her designated driver. Amy’s mother had planned the entire route but  Amy and Roger decide to take the scenic route and drive across visit most of the states of the U.S. before arriving at their final destination. 

This is the perfect read for the summer. I loved the storytelling and illustrations. Amy and Roger were such individual characters that I could to help but want more from them. I can only sing praises. It’s like a traveling guide book for the United States with a story thrown in and it was just so awesome. After reading this, I’m hoping to get to her other books soon. I gave this one a 4/5 stars. 

That was my June Wrap Up. It’s very late but I have no wifi and typing on the phone is quite tedious. Let me know down below what you read in June and what was your favorite book. If you read any of the books from the list above, leave your thoughts in the comments below and I will see you soon. 

Leave a Reply

