Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Happened by Allie Brosh

Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh is a collection of blog posts from her blog which she decided to put in a book. Each post refers to something in her life or about her time depressed. I picked this one up after my friend suggested it to me and also the cover was seriously attractive and who cares if there’s 10 other books you’re “reading” because I wanted to read this one.

17571564

Goodreads/ Amazon

Publisher- Simon & Schuster

Pages- 396 (Hardcover)

Rating- 4.5/5 stars

This is going to be a general review about what I liked and enjoyed the most because this book was just amazing. Also, it’s an odd phenomenon that when you start a book at 3am, you will end up laughing like a crazy person and cause your dog to look at you like a crazy person.

I walked in expecting nothing because I didn’t know who Allie Brosh was, just that she did amazing art using Paint and was funny and she was very funny. Each chapter of the book refers to some sort of event or aspect of her life which is either really funny, frustrating, scary or straight up unbelievable. I loved her story about the cake, it was absolutely brilliant coupled with the accompanying illustrations. I think a lot of us have been in that place where we’ve been denied something and when we finally get our hands on it, we finish it completely out of pure revenge. It was just really funny to read that story.

Another favorite of mine was her description of her dogs- simple dog and helper dog. Their antics were delightful and hilarious and very entertaining. I would  like to meet those dogs and interview them about their life one day.

The Dinosaur Goose Chase chapter was unbelievable and when I saw the screenshots, I could believe it had really happened. Geese sound scary and vicious. The entire description was so realistic that I could imagine her and her boyfriend running around saving themselves from it. I don’t think I have words left to go on really.

Read this book. Please. It’s really funny and really quick and really funny. I have to emphasize how funny it is because it really is that funny and that good. Also, the sequel Solutions and Other Problems will be out October 2015.

I gave this pretty looking crazy book a 4.5/5 stars.

One thought on “Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Happened by Allie Brosh

Leave a Reply

