Vicious by V.E. Schwab

Vicious by V.E. Schwab is a Paranormal villain-centric book that follows two characters, Victor Vale and Elliot Cardale who explore the possibility of ExtraOrdinary people, people who have certain abilities or powers. After certain events during which Victor is sent to prison, he comes out and wants to hunt his best friend down for putting him there in the first place so that he can exact his revenge.

13638125

I swear the guy looks like President Snow. It’s so freaky but I love it

Goodreads/ Amazon

Rating- 5/5 stars

Publisher- Tor Books

Pages- 364 (Hardcover)

I realize that the summary is quite bad but in all honesty, this book should just be dived into head-on because it is absolutely BRILLIANT. This officially became my number 1 book of the year. I loved this book, not because it’s addictive which it is, but because it’s crazy, brilliant and mind-blowing. These guys are villains, both of them and it’s crazy how you end up supporting their cause. Seriously, it’s crazy awesome.

What I can’t describe in words, that gif does so, I think this one is going to be another one of my gif reviews of a book.

Victor Vale was my favorite, he had me at ‘sharpies’ and I do not regret it. He is a character that will draw you in in a way that you can’t imagine and he will keep you for the rest of the book no matter what he does. From blotting out his parents books to torture, he will make you his.

As far as Eli Cardale goes, he’s annoying as hell. If there’s one thing I don’t like, it’s character suffering from a case of God complex and he has one the size of the Word Trade Center building. He sees the world in black and white, believes it’s his job to eliminate ExtraOrdinaries and feels he’s exempt from the fate he’s dishing out because he can heal himself. Like, can you not? Hypocrisy at its best and acting like judge, jury and executioner, I hated him from the beginning till the end.

The entire story, on the other hand, is like breathing in Sharpie vapors. It gets you high and you can’t help but want more. This book is one that should be read in one sitting to get the full effect. Still, the plot is absolutely delicious and brings out and shows the worst in people if presented with power. That concept alone is mind blowing and throwing in villains to be your main characters is something only V.E. Schwab could do and did it brilliantly.

I rated this book a 5/5 stars. If I could forget it, I would just so I could read it again and enjoy it completely.

I hope you liked this review and I’ll see you in another one. Stay weird, stay abnosome!

One thought on “Vicious by V.E. Schwab

Leave a Reply

