Warren the 13th and the All-Seeing Eye by Tania del Rio & Will Staehle

I requested this ARC from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review.

25241871

I like the reddish orange color. It’s not a color you see often on a book

Goodreads/ Amazon

Rating- 4/5 stars

Publisher- Quirk Books

Pages- 224 (Hardcover)

Warren the 13th and the All-Seeing Eye by Tania del Rio and illustrated by Will Staehle is a middle grade novel that follows Warren, the 13th of his bloodline, on adventures throughout the hotel he stands to inherit while suffering at the hands of his Aunt Annaconda and is supported by his his family and friends. His aunt only married his Uncle Rupert to discover the All-Seeing Eye and absorb its power to become all powerful. Warren tries to beat his aunt so that he can get to it first and prevent catastrophe from raining upon them.

I quite liked this book. It could also work as a children’s book which I found to be quite pleasing. I loved Petula the most, her character was charming and creepy and ambiguous and she keeps you on edge whenever she shows up. I loved Warren and the fact that he never gave up or lost hope no matter how much his aunt punished him. His character is very strong and is one you can look up to to make yourself not become weak in the face of adversity and hope for a brighter day.

The story in itself was very well done. The start is a bit slow but it picks up well enough. The ending seemed a bit weird to me, very unexpected but I still liked it. It brought a whole new aspect to the face of the hotel and its tenants. It was a very cuddly and warm feeling that I got when I finished it.

I did miss out on the illustrations but whatever I saw, had a lot of potential to catapult the story even further. I will buy this book just to see the illustrations and connect everything in an even more comprehensive way.

Overall, I loved this book. It’s worth the hype and I can’t wait for everyone to read it. This book comes out around November 24, 2015.

I rated it a 4/5 stars.

3 thoughts on “Warren the 13th and the All-Seeing Eye by Tania del Rio & Will Staehle

Leave a Reply

