Fairy Keeper by Amy Bearce

Curiosity Quills Press was kind to ask me to pick any book from their published books to review and I chose Fairy Keeper by Amy Bearce. This is an honest review.

25017130

Goodreads/ Amazon

Rating- 3.5/5 stars

Publisher- Curiosity Quills Press

Pages- 238 (Paperback)

Fairy Keeper by Amy Bearce is a Middle Grade to Young Adult Fantasy based in the fantastical world of Aluvia where people thrive on the magic of fairies who are taken care of by fairy keepers. The keepers are born with fairy  marks on the back of their necks and the gift runs in families but may skip generations. Our main protagonist, Sierria is one such keeper. Her father is a Dark Alchemist who specializes in making a drug called Flight that uses the fairy nectar that the fairies produce. One day, Sierra goes to her fairy hatch to get some nectar per her father’s instructions but the hatch is empty, all the little fairies dead and the Queen gone. She had never had a good relationship with her fairies but seeing all of them dead at her feet evoked a new kind of fear. When her father threatens to trade her younger sister away to his colleague and fellow dark alchemist, Bentwood, she bargains for a month to find a queen fairy and if she does, her sister gets to stay a year before she is shipped to Bentwood. When Sierra discovers that it’s not just her fairy that’s missing, things take a turn for the worse.

I will be blunt here and say I got the book for the cover. It’s absolutely beautiful and I fell in love with the keeper mark and the fantastical allure of the title. When I first picked it up, not much happened at all and that kept me from reading it often but I’m glad I stuck to it.

The first half of the book is just pure build up. It is very slow and testy but depicts the journey of our characters and the forming of bonds. It also laid the ground for certain events in the next half of the book along with a decent amount of world building. The setting is very simple, which I quite liked as it made it easy to concentrate on the story of the characters and their journey, and is similar to what you would see in Tolkien’s world or something similar.

In terms of characters, Corbin was more of a cardboard cut out and didn’t have much to him. It would’ve been really cool if he was another female character instead and that might’ve been a crazier ride to be on. I absolutely loved the angst between Sierra and Nell in the beginning and their relationship development was quite amazing.

Major character development for Sierra and I’m glad that she wasn’t one-dimensional. I really do understand the importance of saving the one family you love but it was becoming too stale and Amy Bearce did a great job of expanding her outlook and helping her see that she can do a lot more and save her little sister.

There were some points that I got confused at, some concepts that I didn’t quite get and if there ever is a sequel, I’d love if they got explained more in those but if this is a stand-alone, I’m fine with that too.

All in all, I loved this book. It was sweet and adorable and magical, all things I love and I recommend it to anyone who loves fantastical creatures.

I rated this book a 3.5/5 stars.

I hope you liked this post and I will see you in my next one!

Amy Bearce writes stories for tweens and teens. Her debut book, FAIRY KEEPER, is an upper-middle grade fantasy. Her next book, MER-CHARMER will be out in 2016. She is a former reading teacher who now has her Masters in Library Science. As an Army kid, she moved eight times before she was eighteen, so she feels especially fortunate to be married to her high school sweetheart. Together they’re raising two daughters and are currently living in Germany. A perfect day for Amy involves rain pattering on the windows, popcorn, and every member of her family curled up in one cozy room reading a good book.

Leave a Reply

