Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell is a Young Adult Fantasy spin-off from Fangirl. We saw Cath writing Simon and Baz fanfiction and as a fanfiction writer it really endeared to me and I really ended up relating to her. I walked into a bookstore and walked out with this book, no qualms nothing. I’d heard that Rainbow was writing this book and I read the excerpt from BEA but this was a whole new deal and I loved every minute of it.

I couldn’t get the hardcover!!!! Still, the cover is so cute

Goodreads/ Amazon

Rating- 4.5/5 stars

Publisher- Macmillan

Pages- 528 (Paperback)

I loved Baz, so so much. It’s weird how much these so-called ‘bad guys’ or ‘villains’ are actually gooey and adorable on the inside and you can’t help but melt everytime a little bit of that shows. Perfect misunderstood character, absolutely loved him.

Simon, poor guy was so clueless but I’m gad he realized in time or I would’ve had to kick his butt or asked Penelope to do that. I wish there was more Simon Snow because this book is just a taste of that vast world and I just really want more, keep it coming that’s all.

Penelope was such a badass intelligent character. I loved the scenes in which Baz and her are just discussing favorite spells or connecting the dots and when she’s speaking to herself because I do that a lot and it was just perfect. I need a Penny in my life, definitely.

IMG_3476

Baz and Simon were just *heart eyes*. As a fandom girl, I tend to end up making a lot of ships from books and TV Shows and a lot of them are boyxboy. To see that written and published and something that is not canon was just- I can’t explain it. It’s a feeling that every fangirl gets when she writes fic and ships two people with all her heart and soul. My hearts were all over the place. The adorable kiss between Simon and Baz, Simon ending up at Baz’s house and then sleeping in his room because the wraiths weren’t letting him sleep in his, them screaming ‘Anathema’ every time they got a little too close to physical violence to protect the other from getting thrown out, I mean, that’s true love right there. WHY ARE THINGS LIKE THIS NOT CANON?!?!

That is every fangirl when their ships are doomed to never be canon. Rainbow, please write more Simon and Baz, even if it’s only on your blog or site. I will read it, please, just write it.

There is some debate as to whether this can be read as a stand-alone and I think that it can be read as one but do read Fangirl as well because that’ll give more context to the story.

A definite 4.5/5 stars.

If you’d like to fangirl with me about Carry On or any other ships (*cough* *cough* destiel), you can find me on my million social networks and on AO3 and Wattpad.

I’ll see you again soon with my wrap up and haul!!

Rainbow Rowell writes books. Sometimes she writes about adults (ATTACHMENTS and LANDLINE). Sometimes she writes about teenagers (ELEANOR & PARK and FANGIRL). But she always writes about people who talk a lot. And people who feel like they’re screwing up. And people who fall in love.

When she’s not writing, Rainbow is reading comic books, planning Disney World trips and arguing about things that don’t really matter in the big scheme of things.

She lives in Nebraska with her husband and two sons.

More at rainbowrowell.com.

7 thoughts on “Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Leave a Reply

