Rat Queens, Vol. 1: Sass and Sorcery by Kurtis J. Wiebe & Roc Upchurch (Rat Queens, Vol. 1: 1-5)

I finally gave in and got Rat Queens, Vol.1: Sass and Sorcery by Kurtis J. Wiebe and illustrated by Roc Upchurch. I was going through a minor reading slump during the month and this saved my life.

  This cover is so AMAZING!!!!!! I cannot WAIT to get my hands on the next one!! Someone send me Rat Queens merch??

Goodreads/ Amazon

Rating- 4.5/5 stars

Publisher- Image Comics

Pages- 128 (Paperback)

I loved the Queens, they’re absolutely amazing and diverse and so so amazing. The art was beautiful and I was instantly transported to that world and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Violet and Dee were my favorite two Queens and it’s just- I have no words. I loved this rag-tag group. I can’t wait to get the next volume (hopefully Christmas) and I highly recommend this graphic novel series to anyone who’s searching for it.

I rated it- 4.5/5 stars.

If you have any graphic novel suggestions, leave them down below and I will see you in my next post!

Kurtis Wiebe is a Vancouver, Canada based author who’s been established in the world of comic writing since 2009. For his contribution to the critically acclaimed Green Wake, Kurtis was presented with the Outstanding Comic Book Writer Shuster Award.

Never satisfied with a specific style of writing, Kurtis has branched out to novels, videogames and screenplays. He spends his days at home, writing about the mad things that float around his brain, and occasionally escapes to various cities around North America to promote his projects.

6 thoughts on “Rat Queens, Vol. 1: Sass and Sorcery by Kurtis J. Wiebe & Roc Upchurch (Rat Queens, Vol. 1: 1-5)

  1. I love this comic too and all the characters. They are hilarious! As for recommendations, Saga, if you haven’t yet tried it. I’m new to comics and graphic novels but I enjoyed what I read so far. The art in The Wicked and the Divine is beautiful so I recommend it too. The story is a hit or miss with folks though. And I’m planning to get Lady Mechanika. The art looks great and I’m curious to see what it’s about.

    1. I’ve heard only good things about Saga and The Wicked + The Divine. I might get them but I have to consider that I will be moving in a few months and have to take all my books with me. I’ll definitely be adding Lady Mechanika to my TBR!!

Leave a Reply

