NaNoWriMo Week 4

IMG_3598

It’s the end, it’s over and I’m sad. This was my first earnest attempt at NaNo even though I participated last year but there was so much going on this month that I’m surprised I reached as far as I did.

For the sake of getting a headstart, I’d started writing a month prior because I knew I wouldn’t have time. I made close to 25k words and decided I could take it easy. Biggest. Mistake. Ever. I should’ve written at least 500 words a day instead of skipping altogether. I was studying almost constantly for the GRE which I gave 2 fridays ago. After that I went to see my sister which was four days of tourist stuff. It was a great holiday but I missed out on huge chunks of writing.

Today, I tried to get 10k words done but running on 2.5 hours of sleep and a day of travelling, I was running low on a lot. I still tried and wrote a bit more. My final word count is 40,824. I could push it and bring it to 45k but I’d rather take a few days and do it because I know I will get there.

I’m hoping that next year is less busy and I’m able to reach the 50k goal.

I hope you guys had a great NaNoWriMo and congratulations to everyone who reached, surpassed and did better than they expected!! Good job!!

I will be returning to my blogging schedule now that  I’m back home and have access to Wi-fi. Thanks for reading!

5 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Week 4

  1. Good job for writing at all with such a busy schedule! I have a really hard time balancing life and writing. I think your NaNoWriMo 2015 definitely counts as a huge success!

      1. I did! I got really lucky and was able to kick my husband out of the house for 2 weeks (business trip) so I was able to write like a hermit. I met my word goal, but I didn’t do it in a very balanced way!

Leave a Reply

