My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories by Stephanie Perkins

I picked up My True Love Gave To Me by Stephanie Perkins for a little winter Christmas fluff. It’s a collection of 12 short stories from various authors including Laini Taylor, Holly Black, Rainbow Rowell and a few more. I had high expectations for the stories but a lot I found were just meh or okay.

20309175

Ahhhh… Such Christmas!

Goodreads/ Amazon

Rating- 3.5/5 stars

Publisher- St. Martin’s Press

Pages- 336 (Hardcover)

I had four favorites and they were-

Krampuslauf by Holly Black- This story blew me away. It made it seem normal for the anti-Claus to be real and I just loved Holly Black’s writing. This was the first piece of writing I’ve read by her and I can’t wait to read more.

Welcome to Christmas, CA by Kiersten White- There was a reality in this story that was so unexpected and it affected feelings that I haven’t felt while reading a contemporary. Very good writing and the story was just the perfect combination of bitter and sweet. Loved it.

The Girl Who Woke the Dreamer by Laini Taylor- Creepy meets magical is Laini Taylor’s specialty and this was amazing. The writing was beautiful and poetic and I absolutely loved this story.

It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins- This story was outright adorable. The banter between the two characters was just awesome and I can’t wait to read it again.

I gave this book a 3.5/5 stars. It’s cute and goes great with the holidays. If you’ve read this book, what did you think of it? Let me know below!

One thought on “My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories by Stephanie Perkins

Leave a Reply

