Trigger Warning: Short Fictions and Disturbances by Neil Gaiman

By some absurd twist of fate, this review got deleted and so, I’m having to rewrite it.

img_4630

The cover is just- so good

Goodreads/ Amazon

Rating- 5/5 stars

Publisher- Headline

Pages- 311 (Paperback)

Trigger Warning is a collection of short stories by Neil Gaiman. I’d already read a few of them because they were released on special occasions like Click Clack the Rattlebag which came out for Halloween, The Sleeper in the Spindle came out as a gorgeous graphic novel last summer and is a crossover between Snow White and Sleeping Beauty with a massive twist, A Calendar of Tales which was Neil’s idea of involving twitter fans to suggest words for every month of the year and spinning tales based on them, Nothing O’Clock which came out as a short story for the 50th Anniversary of Doctor Who.

The stories are completely whacky, and sometimes bewildering, even frightening. The one that I was most looking forward to was Black Dog which features my favorite character Shadow Moon from American Gods (if you haven’t read that book, pick it up. It’s insanely awesome). I absolutely loved the creepiness woven into the story and the ties from American Gods itself as well as some new ones. It was so darn awesome I can’t.

Orange basically creeped me out. It also reminded me of when I was a 7 year old sneakily watching the X Files at 11 in the night. That really gave me nightmares. Diamonds and Pearls: A Fairytale left me a bit shocked along with Feminine Endings.

This book had me screaming, shocked, and dazed and I loved every minute of it. I love Neil Gaiman and his writing is always a treat.

Rating- 5/5 stars.

One thought on “Trigger Warning: Short Fictions and Disturbances by Neil Gaiman

Leave a Reply

