Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

IMG_5674

Charlie and I really loved reading this book

Goodreads/ Amazon

Rating- 5/5 stars

Publisher- Harper Teen

Pages – 266 (Paperback)

I finally managed to get my hands on Nimona by Noelle Stevenson and it was GLORIOUS!!!! This book, is, basically-

Seriously. I was in a massive reading slump February onwards which I was saved by by V.E. Schwab’s A Darker Shade of Magic and A Gathering of Shadows. So, in March, I decided to pick this up and oh my kittens it saved me from slipping into another slump!!!

If you’re curious as to what this awesome graphic novel is, the synopsis is below.

Synopsis

The graphic novel debut from rising star Noelle Stevenson, based on her beloved and critically acclaimed web comic, which Slate awarded its Cartoonist Studio Prize, calling it “a deadpan epic.”

Nemeses! Dragons! Science! Symbolism! All these and more await in this brilliantly subversive, sharply irreverent epic from Noelle Stevenson. Featuring an exclusive epilogue not seen in the web comic, along with bonus conceptual sketches and revised pages throughout, this gorgeous full-color graphic novel is perfect for the legions of fans of the web comic and is sure to win Noelle many new ones.

Nimona is an impulsive young shapeshifter with a knack for villainy. Lord Ballister Blackheart is a villain with a vendetta. As sidekick and supervillain, Nimona and Lord Blackheart are about to wreak some serious havoc. Their mission: prove to the kingdom that Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin and his buddies at the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics aren’t the heroes everyone thinks they are.

But as small acts of mischief escalate into a vicious battle, Lord Blackheart realizes that Nimona’s powers are as murky and mysterious as her past. And her unpredictable wild side might be more dangerous than he is willing to admit.

Review

I. Loved. Nimona. I want to be her. My heart was exploding with dragons once I was done with it.

YES DEAN, DRAGONS.

Ballister Blackheart is probably the softest softie of evil ever. The way he treats Nimona, like she’s his daughter or younger sister even. They were so awesome together. A proper team, a lovely duo.

Ambrosius wasn’t fun. He was kinda douche-y actually. It was funny how he used to storm into places wherever Blackheart was because he’s designated ‘hero’ but he was also kinda evil which for me always means stick to the shapeshifting girl who turns into a cat at will (what I wouldn’t give to be able to do that) and also a fox and a DRAGON. I’m obsessed with dragons, it’s starting to annoy people around me.

Anyway, you guys should definitely pick it up. The story is levels of adorable and the art is cute and goes well with how the story is told. Especially good if you feel you’re in a slump and need a pick-me-up. Graphic novels really are great.

Rating- 5/5 stars

I hope you liked this review! Please pick it up if you can coz it is seriously awesome.

One thought on “Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

Leave a Reply

