Antidote by Taylor Hondos (Antidote, #1)

I received and ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

30328189

Those eyes in the background are so freaky!

Goodreads/ Amazon

Rating- 3.5 stars

Publisher- Patchwork Press

Pages- 214 (Paperback)

Antidote is an interesting piece of dystopian fiction that has a X- Files style vibe. It creates the scenario of a biological war, mass casualty, and incurable disease and a plague-like future. Considering how much scientists and doctors are working on curing disease and understanding and altering genetics, it is not a completely impossible future. This was one book that I truly felt created a world that might actually come true.

The characters are simple, which is why I really liked them. They focus more on the storyline rather than development at this stage which set a good precedent for the sequel.

Lena was a character I found quite annoying in the beginning. I don’t know why I end up finding a lot of dystopian heroines annoying but end up liking them later. Anyway, I quite enjoyed her character by the end and I look forward to seeing what happens with her in the sequel.

Jared, hmm, interesting guy, lots of secrets but kind of flat. Angry but full of passion and drive, gruff but lovable, a diluted version of Four from the Divergent series. Very smart too which I liked a lot.

Gabriel was a character that you can’t help but hate and love at the same time. He has this way about himself that I really like and enjoy and quickly became a character that I really really liked and really look forward to seeing what he does in the next book.

Holland is a lovely girl that I fell in love with. She is so adorable and just, so homely. I cannot write the amount I love her. Ugh, favorite favorite favorite character.

The story in itself is wonderfully apocalyptic and I loved it. I would recommend it to someone who’s a fan of old school sic-fi and wants to see the experiments in those shows come to life in a well written perspective.

I rated this book 3.5 stars.

Leave a Reply

