My Fairytale Fantasy Author Panel

I was invited by Eventbrite to do a post on what my dream author panel looks like in my mind’s eye. Eventbrite is a website that hosts information about various conferences in the USA, UK, and Canada.

I’ve read a lot of books since I was a wee child, I don’t know what the number is at but it’s pretty high. I’ve read a decent number of genres and I’ve enjoyed most of the books I’d read at the time I read them (which I may not like now). Since then, my tastes have changed and wandered and some have cemented. The one genre that has been my constant companion, has been Fantasy. Whether it was High Fantasy, Young Adult, New Adult- it’s been there for me when I needed a pick me up.

Since then, I’ve also thought about all the authors I would like to meet who write for the genre and I’ve come to a decidedly interesting list of authors.

J.R.R Tolkien

Of course, I would love to see the King of Fantasy on the panel. Tolkien created a stunning world that inspired thousands of stories, inspired my love for fantasy and writing as well. I would love to learn his process for world building and language creation, two things I absolutely love about the World of Middle Earth.

Brandon Sanderson

Brandon Sanderson is the current ruler over all things fantasy and his writing is amazing. His ability to create worlds within universes and connecting them oh-so subtly is such a delight. I would love to meet him and talk to him about his favorite authors and about the universes he’s created.

Sarah J. Maas

I like to call her the Queen of Fantasy because oh my kittens, her Throne of Glass series and her Court of Thorns and Roses series are my favorite. There are so many feels involved in her books and her heroines are such badasses, I just want to fangirl with her about her leading ladies and the awesomeness that is Middle Earth.

Victoria/ V.E. Schwab

I call her the Queen of Monsters because her books bring out my love for the misunderstood creatures in fantastical and paranormal worlds. I would love to talk to her about Neil Gaiman and just fangirl over everything Slytherin.

Susan Dennard

I adore Susan Dennard, not only for her books but also because she’s awesome. She’s a gamer, writes badass heroines, loves the Victorian era and is into martial arts. I just want to give her a hug and thank her for everything she does.

Neil Gaiman

Neil Gaiman has saved me more times than I can count. His ‘Make Good Art’ speech inspires me every day and dissuades me from giving up on things when it gets difficult. His books are mad, completely mad but they stir up something inside me that makes me want to create and for that I am grateful to him. His story telling is truly genius.

These are the people I would love to have on my dream author panel. It’s a thoroughly odd group I know, but that’s when magic happens and lives are changed.

If you would like to learn more about Eventbrite and planning your own conference click here.

Thank you so much for reading and I hope you enjoyed this post!

 

 

Leave a Reply

